So Is It Plant “Milk” or “Mylk”?
Some people like to use the term mylk to completely differentiate plant-based beverages from the traditional milk made from animals. Using the word “milk” on the label of non-dairy milk has actually been banned in the European union since 2017. Like the EU, the FDA actually defines “milk” as a lacteal secretion from cows (sorry, eww!):
“Milk is the lacteal secretion, practically free from colostrum, obtained by the complete milking of one or more healthy cows. ” — FDA.gov
Even though the US and the EU have similar definitions, “In the United States, regulations permit food companies to use regulated terms — like cheese and milk— with qualifiers, such as “dairy-free,” “plant-based,” “cashew,” or “soy.” At least for now…
Other cultures have been consuming plant-based milks and referring to it as “milk” for centuries! Here in the Western countries, we have primarily consumed cow milk, so plant milk is considered a “milk alternative”. Here is a nice concise article on the history of plant milks if you want to learn more: A Brief History of Plant Milks
Are Your Almonds Truly Raw?
In this recipe we call for raw almonds. Many people might not realize it, but almonds labeled “raw” can actually be pasteurized or even processed with potentially harmful chemicals. Read our article and watch the video about it and learn how to find truly raw almonds here: The “Raw Almonds” You’re Buying Aren’t Actually Raw
Rate and Comment